Milton Kahn Annual Lectureship

Photo: Milton Kahn Annual Lectureship

When: Fri Mar 03 2017, 4:00 pm

Where: SMLC 102

The University of New Mexico invites you to attend the Milton Kahn Annual Lectureship! This year's receipient of the lectureship award is Todd J. Martinez; he is a David Mulvane Ehrsam and Edward Curtis Franklin Professor of Chemistry at Stanford University and a Professor of Photon Science at the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. He received his B.S. from Calvin College in 1989 and his Ph.D. from UCLA in 1994. He was a Fulbright Fellow at the Fritz Haber Institute for Molecular Dynamics at Hebrew University and a University of California Presidential Postdoctoral Fellow at UCLA for two years prior to joining the faculty at the University of Illinois in 1996. He was named a Gutgsell Professor of Chemistry at the University of Illinois in 2006. He joined the Stanford faculty in 2009. Professor Martínez is a theoretical chemist whose research focuses primarily on developing first-principles approaches to chemical reaction dynamics, starting from the fundamental equations of quantum mechanics.